search-white-svg
location-svg
Meine Position
i
Ein Tipp vom Eldar Team
Je mehr Sie bestellen, desto grösser Ihr Rabatt
Orphans of Empire
Buch
Buch
Belletristik
2020

Orphans of Empire

ISBN
EAN
978-1-927366-89-9
9781927366899
Artikel-Nr.
6NLRZWE
Kostenloser Versand
CHF
29.91
Anzahl
1
Maximale
Lieferzeit
17
Arbeitstage
Dienstag
06.09.2022
speech-bubble-svg Beschreibung

"Meticulously researched and vividly drawn, Orphans of Empire brings to life the half-forgotten world of early British Columbia. This is an immersive, shimmering novel." -Steven Price, author of #1 nationally bestselling By Gaslight and Giller-shortlisted Lampedusa

In Grant Buday's new novel, three captivating stories intertwine at the site of the New Brighton Hotel on the shores of Burrard Inlet. In 1858 the serious and devoted Sir Richard Clement Moody receives the commission of a lifetime when he is sent to help establish "a second England"-what is now British Columbia. In 1865 Frisadie, an eighteen-year-old Kanaka housemaid, who is more entrepreneur than ingénue, arrives in New Brighton from Hawaii. She convinces Maxie Michaud to purchase the hotel with her, and it soon becomes the toast of the inlet. In 1885 Henry Fannin, a young, curious embalmer and magnetism devotee, having struck out in London and San Francisco, arrives in New Brighton and promptly falls in love with a tragic woman he hears crying on his first night at the hotel.

Endearing, funny, and highly evocative of time and place, Orphans of Empire celebrates those living in the shadow of history's supposed heroes, their private struggles and personal agendas. Readers who loved Michael Crummey's Galore and Eowyn Ivey's To the Bright Edge of the World, will love this vivid novel of arrivals that prods at the ethics of settlement.

Publikation
2020
speech-bubble-svg
Sprache
Englisch
book-svg Format
Buch (Softcover)
272 Seiten
credit-card-svg Zahlungsarten
payment-einzahlungsschein payment-twint payment-mastercard payment-visa payment-american-express payment-post-finance payment-e-post-finance payment-apple-pay payment-google-pay samsung-pay
Bestellen Sie einfach auf Rechnung oder bezahlen Sie bequem und gebührenfrei mit Twint, Kreditkarte, PostFinance, Apple, Google oder Samsung Pay.
package-svg Versand
Kostenlos: Schweiz & Liechtenstein
Für Deutschland oder Frankreich werden die Versandgebühren im Warenkorb berechnet.
Rückgabe
30 Tage Rückgaberecht
Sie können das Buch innerhalb von 30 Wochentagen ohne Angabe von Gründen zurücksenden.
Weitere Hinweise finden Sie in unseren AGB unter D.1.
subcategories-svg
Passende Themen
Zurück
Zum Start
eldar-store-white-svg
S
SPIEGEL Bestseller